Faith in the Orthodox Church

Triomphe de l'Orthodoxie

The Orthodox Church in Togo, which is within the jurisdiction of the Greek Orthodox Patriarchate of Alexandria and All Africa, uses the Creed of Nicaea, which was adopted by the three hundred and eighteen priests present in Nicaea in Bithynia in 325, without the Latin ˝filioque˝ [1]

Its doctrine is based on the Old Testament tradition, on the Gospel, on the Tradition of the Apostles and Fathers of the Church, but also on dogmas of faith announced by the seven Ecumenical Councils :

1- The Council of Nicaea of 325, which condemned Arius’s doctrine. The Council affirms the Father and Son’s consubstantiality and cursed Arianism which considers Jesus as an intermediary creature between God and man.

2- The Council of Constantinople of 381, which reaffirmed Christ’s divinity, declared the Holy Spirit’s divinity and finished writing the creed known as the Nicaea-Constantinople Creed.

3- The Council of Ephesus of 431, which confirmed the unity of Christ, one Person in two natures, divine and human and named His mother « mother of God », Théotokos »

4- The Council of Chalcedon of 451, which confirms that Jesus Christ is both God and Human, reconciling within himself his divine and human nature, united with neither confusion nor division.

5- The second Council of Constantinople of 553 which condemned Nestorius’s doctrine who tried to destroy the mystery of the Incarnation by saying that “the Word of God inhabited Christ because he was a just man whom served Him well” and that “Jesus Christ received the anointing of the Holy Spirit for His worth and His innocence”. The Council condemns the Nestorian heresy and maintains that the divine nature or substance is unique and consubstantial in three persons, the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit.

6- The third Council of Constantinople of 680 which condemns Monothelitism which taught that Jesus Christ has only one will. This Council states that Jesus Christ has two wills: “a divine will which manages human things divinely and a human will which manages divine things humanely”.

7- The second Council of Nicaea of 787 which authorizes and defines the use and veneration of icons and ends iconoclasm.

Saint-Athanase-d'Alexandrie

Saint Athanasius of Alexandria (between 298 – 373)
 A fervent defender of the True Faith and of the dogma of the divinity of  the Word, whose consubstantiality with the Father he claimed at the Council of Nicaea, adding the word “Homoousian” to the theological vocabulary.

 Saint Cyrille d'Alexandrie

Saint Cyril of Alexandria (376-444)
Defended in the Council of Ephesus (431) the undoubted union of the divine and human nature in Jesus Christ and claimed the Virgin’s divine maternity by calling her Theotokos, Mother of God.


[1]  See The Profession of faith and the Dogmas of faith in the Orthodox Church

La foi de l’Eglise orthodoxe

Triomphe de l'Orthodoxie

L’Eglise orthodoxe du Togo, dans la Juridiction du Patriarcat grec orthodoxe d’Alexandrie et de toute l’ Afrique confesse le Crédo de Nicée, ratifié par les trois cent dix-huit Pères réunis à Nicée de Bithynie en l’an 325, sans adjonction du ˝filioque˝ latin[1].

La base doctrinale de son enseignement relève de la Tradition vétéro-testamentaire, de l’Evangile, de la Tradition des Apôtres et des Pères de l’Eglise, ainsi que des dogmes de foi promulgués  par les sept Conciles Œcuméniques, à savoir :

1- le Concile de Nicée en 325, qui condamna la doctrine d’Arius. Le Concile affirme la consubstantialité du Père et du Fils et anathématise l’arianisme qui considère Jésus-Christ comme une créature de rang intermédiaire entre Dieu et l’homme.

2- le Concile de Constantinople en 381, qui réaffirme la divinité du Christ, proclame celle du Saint-Esprit et achève la rédaction du Credo dit de Nicée-Constantinople.

3- le Concile d’Ephèse en 431, qui affirme l’unité du Christ dès sa conception, une seule Personne en deux natures divine et humaine, et appelle sa mère «Mère-de-Dieu » , Théotokos » (Mère de Celui qui est Dieu par nature).

4- le Concile de Chalcédoine en 451, qui affirme que Jésus-Christ est à la fois Dieu et Homme, unissant en sa personne sa nature divine et sa nature humaine sans diminution, sans confusion, ni séparation.

5- le deuxième Concile de Constantinople en 553 qui condamne la doctrine de Nestorius qui s’était efforcer d’anéantir le mystère de l’Incarnation en affirmant que ˝Dieu le Verbe n’habitait en Jésus-Christ que comme dans un homme juste en qui il mettait ses complaisances˝ et que ˝Jésus-Christ a reçu l’onction du Saint-Esprit comme une récompense de son mérite et de son innocence˝. Le Concile anathématise l’hérésie nestorienne et affirme que la nature ou substance divine est une et consubstantielle en trois personnes, le Père, le Fils et le Saint-Esprit.

6- le troisième Concile de Constantinople en 680, qui condamne le monothélisme qui enseignait qu’il n’y a qu’une seule volonté en Jésus-Christ. Ce Concile réaffirme à l’encontre de cette hérésie qu’il y a en Jésus-Christ deux volontés : ˝une volonté divine qui opère divinement les choses humaines et une volonté humaine qui opère humainement les choses divines˝.

7- le deuxième Concile de Nicée en 787 qui autorise et précise le culte des images et met fin à l’iconoclasme.

Saint-Athanase-d'Alexandrie

Saint Athanase d’Alexandrie (vers 298 – 373) Défenseur irréprochable de la vraie foi, du dogme de la divinité du Verbe dont il proclama la consubstantialité au Père au Concile de Nicée, en enrichissant le vocabulaire théologique du mot « homoousios».

Saint Cyrille d'Alexandrie

Saint Cyrille d’Alexandrie (376-444) a défendu au Concile d’Ephèse (431) l’union sans mélange en Jésus-Christ de la nature divine à la nature humaine et proclamé la maternité divine de la Vierge en la désignant par le nom de Théotokos,  Mère-de-Dieu.

[1] Voir infra « La confession des dogmes dans l’Eglise orthodoxe ».